Skip to main content

Rio Grande Water Conservation District

The Rio Grande Water Conservation District is the leading entity in improved total water management in the San Luis Valley with a goal of efficiency and good water conservation efforts. Our mission, therefore, is "to enhance and protect the water rights of the citizens in the San Luis Valley who reside within the boundaries of the District".

The District was created by the Colorado General Assembly and formed in 1967 by a vote of the people residing within its boundaries. The District was created to protect, enhance, and develop water resources in the Rio Grande River basin. The District encompasses a five county region, which includes Alamosa, Rio Grande, Conejos and portions of Saguache and Mineral Counties within the Rio Grande River basin, including the Closed Basin.

The District is a corporate body and a political subdivision. In order to accomplish its mission, the District is authorized to levy an ad valorem tax on all real property located within the District, collect fees assessments and surcharges. In addition, the District is also authorized to contract with Federal, State and local agencies, and individuals.