Skip to main content

Subdistrict No. 5 Board of Managers

The Board of Managers is composed of up to five members and one ex officio member.

  • The members must be landowners or legal representatives of landowners within the Subdistrict No. 5 boundaries.
  • The ex officio member will be appointed to represent the Board of Directors for the District.

George Whitten - Manager
David Schmittel - Manager
Corey Hill - Manager
Kit Caldon - Manager
Dale Gertsberger - Manager

Ex Officio Member
Doug Gunnels - Manager


The Purpose of the Board of Managers is to carry out the general supervision and operational management of the Subdistrict.  Specifically, the Board of Managers must administer a plan of water management to benefit the property within the Subdistrict.  The plan of water management must be designed to remedy injurious depletions to senior surface water rights from groundwater withdrawals from Subdistrict Wells and to conserve and stabilize the water supply for irrigation, domestic, municipal, industrial and other beneficial uses for those water users within the boundaries of the Subdistrict. The Board of Managers operate both separately and in conjunction with the Board of Directors of the Rio Grande Water Conservation District.  


Regular meetings are yet to be established.


The Bylaws have not yet been completed.